Re: Lansing Paddlers Anyone interested in a LOAPC bike ride?

I’m planning a bike ride as a club outing for Saturday, Nov 13.  Anyone interested?  I’m going to the Falling Water trail, on the west side of Jackson – see the link below for more details.  The trail is a linear park, and is part of the Jackson County park system.  It’s a paved stretch of abandoned railroad line, and runs about 10 miles from end to end. 

The plan is to drive down, take a fun ride with the group, and then head for a local pub to replace all those fluids we will have lost from our exertions.  If they happen to have a great hamburger or Reuben or basket of curly fries, so much the better!  This is sort of a last minute activity, and it’s heavily dependent on weather.  If Saturday is just a bust weather-wise, then Sunday the 14th is my fallback date.  Starting time is a bit fluid at the moment, but we’ll meet sometime Saturday morning and caravan down.  If you’re interested, drop me a line, and I’ll send directions to everyone that replies.

Also – I know that bikes can be more trouble to transport than a kayak.  If you have room to carry a bike for someone else, let me know.  I can possibly carry a few extras if necessary in my truck or on a trailer, as long as I know ahead of time.

Tony Kuhlman
LOAPC rec co-chair

http://fallingwatertrail.org/
Some more details on this trip:

We will meet at the Sunoco gas station on Dunckel Rd, just east of exit 11 on US-127.  I will be there by 8:45, and plan to leave at 9 AM.  The gas station has food, coffee, and restrooms.  Look for my truck – a dark grey Ford Ranger.  I plan to leave by 9 AM.

Tony

PS:   The fallback date in case of rain is Sunday, Nov. 14.  Yes, I know Monday is Opening Day of deer season.  If you’re a hunter, that’s fine.  Just please don’t shoot us off our bikes, OK?  Deer don’t have wheels!  🙂

4 responses to “Re: Lansing Paddlers Anyone interested in a LOAPC bike ride?

  1. I can make Saturday if the weather is not to cold. Sunday something else is going on at 2PM so I would probably have to miss the fall back ride.

    If it’s 25 degrees or warmer I and the roads are free of ice and snow I should be able to handle it.

  2. I would love to go, but have another committment. If you do again…count me in!

  3. POSTED BY TONY:
    Right now the forecast for the ride this Saturday down near Jackson calls for rain showers. Sunday’s forecast is for partly cloudy. I’ll wait a bit to get a better forecast before I say go/no go. If you’re still debating, though, you’re welcome to come along!

    Don’t forget that we’re scheduled for THIS SATURDAY, Nov. 13. The alternate day due to bad weather is Sunday, the 14th.

    Tony Kuhlman

  4. Looks like you’ll have decent weather……
    Nov 13 Tomorrow
    Partly cloudy skies in the morning will give way to cloudy skies during the afternoon. High 62F. Winds ESE at 10 to 15 mph.

Leave a Reply

